Thursday, November 18, 2010

Fundamentalism and The Emergent Church - A Match Made In Heaven (pun)

Just so you know I REALLY wanted to name this blog Rob Bell and Bill Graham - A Match Made In Heaven...but well you know...

And just to preface this blog - this is just a random stream of thoughts popping in my head. This is NOT a well thought out, researched, theological essay. I won't be quoting authors, experts, or even Scripture. So this is all 100% opinion as they fall out of my brain.

So I can't stand the emergent church. I don't think that's a secret. They drive me nuts. I also can't stand modern day fundamentalism (aka legalism). I think it's safe to say no one can stand legalism. But what I REALLY can't stand is the absolute brainwashed zombie like absorption of both sides. As Will Smith would say "Let's Break It Down"...

The Emergent Church - A Personal History

I think I really came to loathe the emergent church during college. For those of you who don't know I attended a small Christian college in Ohio. And much like any private, Christian school it was full of hipster Christians. The Christians who were different simply to be different.

"The man says I can't drink or smoke on campus? Ha, I'll show them. I'll go off campus and drink, smoke, cuss, and have relations. Take that right wing conservative Christian education system."

Needless to say they were the coolest kids on campus...(sarcasm'd). Now all of that applied to their personal lives, but when it came time to talk spiritual (as in for class assignments, to impress Christian girls, etc.) it was time to get emergent.

"You mean you haven't read the latest Rob Bell?" "You still haven't memorized Blue Like Jazz cover to cover?"

It was just the cool thing to do. It was like drinking the freaking Kool Aid! And obviously if you didn't adhere to the emergent guidelines you were a strict, legalistic, Baptist, Republican, nut job. Good times. My favorite game to play with the emergents was try to have an actual theological discussion where they expressed themselves without quoting from the book of Rob Bell or Donald Miller. As in an original thought of their own. It never happened.

I'll be the first to admit my distaste for the emergent church STARTED with the previous annoyances. But I honestly took the time to read all of the sacred tomes of Miller and Bell to understand this post-modern (am I the only one who gags at this term. Not for what it stands for but just the pretentiousness it's used for...anyway) movement.

The Emergent Church - A Personal Cliff Note

So I'm going to reduce everything I learned about the emergent church into tiny, manageable, snarky bites (don't worry, fundamentalism has it come-uppins soon)

Basically what *I* gleaned about the emergent movement is thusly:

The modern (aka right wing, legalistic, Republican, uptight, etc.) church is full of hypocritical, two-faced, rule following (and rule breaking), broken but hide it, emotionless robots. The modern church doesn't care about the lost, hurting, widow, poor, etc. They sit in their big-fancy buildings chanting and judging the world from inside their safe Christian bubble.

Are they right? ABSOLUTELY!!! So what's the solution? Well it's to not really read the Bible, just ignore those parts that say what NOT to do (that's what makes you legalistic). Let's just sit in a circle in our home church, holding hands, drinking beer/wine, swearing, and listening to Sufjan Stevens.

It's all about emotions, feeling good (not letting that sin stuff be such a drag), and trying to fit in with the world SO hard that it's impossible to tell the difference. Basically, the current church system is broken so let's just throw EVERYTHING out and start fresh. The baby and the bathwater if you will...

OK so that's how *I* feel about the emergent movement. Now it's your turn fundamentalism...

Fundamentalism - A Personal History

I was born and raised in the Southern Baptist Church. Did I live it? Sure didn't. Not until Sophomore year of High School. Did I love it? Absolutely. I finally belonged. I knew all of the things I should do and all of the things I shouldn't do. I also knew how to tell everyone else about the do's and don'ts.

That's about it.

I know I wrote a small novel about what I didn't like about the emergent church and here I am saying one paragraph about being raised in the modern church they hate so much. But there's not much to say. I lived it and I loved it. Every part of it. I was a sinner and a saint. I was everything the emergent church said we were. I was a hypocrite, I was two-faced, I lived a different life outside my safe Christian bubble, I did all of it.

The Emergent Church - A Personal Cliff Note

And all the while I was learning and growing in my own faith challenging the emergent church in college, I also came to realize some things about my faith. Not necessarily my home church, but the modern Baptist, mainstream church as a whole was legalistic, hypocritical, secluded, etc. But that didn't mean going emergent was the answer. Just because everything wasn't working as it should be doesn't mean the whole thing is wrong and needs to be destroyed!

Does the emergent church have all the answers? No. Does fundamentalism? No. That's where this beautiful marriage comes together.

Here Comes The Bride (Biblical Pun)

So the modern church I grew up in and love is broken. What do we do? Well I think the emergent church is right - we do need more emotion, more honesty, and more love in the modern church. We do show up every Sunday and say "Hi how are you? "Oh just fine thank you" while inside we are torn apart with sin, depression, struggles, loss, and heartbreak. We DO need to be more honest and open with one another.

We DO need to be more involved with our community, with the hurting world outside our brick walls. Let's stop assuaging our guilt about the lost and hurting world by throwing money at a faceless organization and saying we're doing our part. Yes I do believe 110% that we should be financially supporting local and foreign missions, good hard working charities, Christian radio....and others. But let's stop using money as the be all end all. Let's start getting our hands and feet dirty! Let's go out into the community and physically help the lost and hurting. Let's GO to Africa and DO something. Let's BE Christ.

The modern church has dropped the ball BIG TIME and the emergent church has got that part nailed! BUT that's where the emergent church wants to stop, and THAT is where they drop the ball.

BEING A FUNDAMENTALIST IS GOOOOOOOD. Unfortunately that name, that title has been sullied by "famous" "Christians" in the media who take it to the extreme and give it a bad rap. The core idea of fundamentalism is sticking to the FUNDAMENTALS. Aka 100% honestly reading, following, and living God's inherent and INFALLIBLE Word!

But Craig isn't that called being legalistic? Do you know what legalism is - it's a fundamentalist who let his emergent side die. It is someone who is devoid of the love of God, the emotion, the feeling, and replaced it SOLELY with the fundamentals - the law.

Are the 10 commandments bad? Absolutely not! Is getting drunk bad? Bible says so. Is adultery bad? Bible says so. The emergent church doesn't want the world to know that. It's going to harshen everyones buzz! But IT IS GOD'S WORD. We can't just throw that away because it makes us feel bad. But we also can't be fundamentalist who ignore the entire focus of the New Testament - JESUS IS LOVE. Is getting drunk bad? Bible (the law) says so, but Jesus says it's because we should be getting drunk (full) of His Spirit! Not ONLY because the law says so, but because there is something BETTER to fill ourselves with! Don't twist or even ignore parts of the Bible and say they're wrong because it makes you feel bad. It's not guilt it's conviction. We know better (or we would if we followed the fundamentals).

So what that's perfect Christian? If you ask me it's the child of a hipster and a yuppie. A Democrat and a Republican.

Let's get back to the fundamentals, and let's start letting our emotions get the better of us. Let us love. Let us love like God would love.

The End


Saturday, April 24, 2010

Double Down...of Death?


OK for some reason my friend Steve Shore and I feel it is our duty to you the general public to subject our bodies to various types of "new foods" as guinea pigs for your personal growth. If it says NEW on it we'll try it.

So obviously HOW could I afford to pass on this American delicacy that is the KFC Double Down. This obvious ploy for free advertising from outraged physicians and concerned media nuts beckoned to me as I passed a KFC on my way home. In case you didn't know the Double Down is 2 pieces of chicken pretending to be bread as the hug 2 different types of cheese, 2 strips of bacon, and a mystery sauce.

Now for the obvious - yes it was the greasiest thing I've ever eaten. But to be honest with you it's not as bad as you think. Taste wise yes it as bad as you think unless you like KFC chicken. Because that's all it is. It's 2 greasy, salty pieces of "chicken". If you've ever eaten any chicken at KFC you've eaten the Double Down, the only difference is you're eating it all at once.

Honestly my biggest complaint was it was the saltiest thing I've ever eaten. As if the chicken was salty enough they slap on salty bacon. I really didn't taste the bacon - just the salt. Mystery sauce - couldn't taste it. Cheese - barely tasted it (although it was the strongest cheese I've ever seen. It refused to melt even between 2 scalding hot pieces of chicken.

Yes I probably shaved 5 years off my life. Yes I didn't feel good the second I finished it. But all of the above would have happened no matter what I would have eaten at KFC.

If you like KFC you'll love the Double Down. If you like chicken (the greasy kind not that healthy stuff, although they do give you the option of grilled...) you might like the Double Down. If you lost a bet and/or drunk you might like the Double Down.

But don't buy the hype - it's just like eating everything all at once. I'm just proud to say I will get to be a part of what is sure to be a class-action lawsuit in the making.

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

WHERE DO I FIT (aka Am I A Ministry Failure?)

OK let me preface this whole thing by saying this - I'm not writing this for sympathy. This is one long, whiney, complaint filled blog, but I just want you to know it's not a pity party. I'm not writing this to get 20 comments of how awesome I am (while true *sarcasm'd*), I'm just venting. This comes after a series of disappointing events and the best way I know how to get it off my chest is to vent. And for some reason my generation does it on the internet. I know what you're thinking - "If you don't want a bunch of comments why talk about this on the internet for everyone to see" Answer: I have no clue. I just do. Maybe I'm looking for company in my misery not a solution. Who knows, but here it goes anyway:

Am I failure at ministry? Like all ministry? I know the answer people - of course not. I know God has a purpose for me but I'm getting tired of failing along the way! Where do I belong!?

Youth ministry was my LIFE! I'm not exaggerating or trying to sound like an altar boy, but it was all I ever wanted. Event while I was a youth I just day dreamed about what it would be like when I was a leader. All of the great things we would do, all of the kids we would reach, and I honestly wasn't thinking in the terms of fame (who's ever heard of a famous youth pastor) I honestly had a passion for the ministry. So obviously I was supposed to be a youth pastor! That's what the church helped me understand. I had a serious passion for the ministry and therefore I wanted to be the man in charge of it.

WRONG

I don't fault my church one bit. They were the most encouraging, uplifting, and supportive group of people. They saw my passion and said - a youth pastor in the making. But when I saw everything that went into being a youth pastor during college it was a giant wake-up call! Yeah I had a passion for youth but man alive did I NOT want to be the man in charge.

And this wasn't just a fleeting moment of being overwhelmed and throwing my hands in the air giving up. I honestly, truly realized I wasn't called to be a youth pastor. Of course I still had a passion for youth, just because I didn't want to be a pastor didn't mean I have up on the entire ministry. Maybe I was just supposed to be a sunday school teacher!

Move forward to a new state, a new church, a new chance! Let's try this Sunday School thing

WRONG

Again, my new church was beyond supportive, encouraging, and reaffirming. And again this wasn't another case of being scared and giving up before I tried. I prayed. Trust me I prayed. I just did not feel led to teach. I'm not a teacher. But you went to a Christian college so obviously you know everything! Or not! Oh you work in a career where you speak publicly all the time, so obviously a small classroom is nothing! Wrong again! I just didn't feel it. And yes I know ministry isn't a feeling. It's not some whim you get, "oh I think I'll be a Sunday School teacher...naw don't like it, nevermind."

All of these decisions that I wasn't in the right place came with serious prayer. Serious soul searching. Serious questions, conversations, and debates with God. And I never felt like I let him down saying I wasn't mean to be these things. Maybe I just hadn't found my place yet.

But I love how the church (in general not singling out any church) has a funny way of making you feel bad for not feeling led to do something. Ministry leaders think you're a perfect fit for ________ and so they approach you. They tell you to pray about it before you decide. But if you every answer no (after praying of course) you get this feeling like they know better. "No you just didn't pray hard enough or you weren't listening - I really think you'd make a great ______." Not saying you're wrong but shouldn't I know what God told me? Then my favorite is when they (again speaking generally not about someone I've dealt with) sign you up for it anyway and tell you to give it a shot and see. Well if I don't feel called to do this how is making me do it going to help?

Yes I know a lot of people are just scared and if they actually try it they come to love it. But in my case I've tried everything offered to me at least once. I tried it really I did. I've preached, teached, led, etc. I'm just not feeling like that's where God is calling me.

I guess my whole point is - is that wrong?! Yeah I learned a lot of the Bible in college, and I loved learning it. Maybe my role is in learning, and sharing it in a one-on-one basis, not in a classroom setting. I honestly don't see myself as a leader in any way, I'm a big time follower. You make the plan and I'll help you achieve it to the best of my ability.

I don't know I guess I just feel like sometimes the only way someone says you're in ministry is if you're leading something. Like coming to church and learning and fellowshipping isn't enough (obviously I'm not talking about just coming to church and going home. Faith without works is useless. I'm just saying I almost feel pressured to minister in ways I don't feel are my ministry, and shame on me for feeling that way)

It feels like a cop-out to say based on what my job is but I really feel like my job is my ministry. I get to work with and speak to and minister to youth every day - even if I don't open my mouth! I present AMAZING teachers on the air every day - and they're not me! But I love it! I find it fulfilling!

So why do I feel like a failure because I don't feel led to be a youth pastor or a sunday school teacher or a leader in "the ministry"? And why does it make me feel like an even bigger failure when people tell me all day that I am supposed to be one of those things? Am I allowed to disagree or does that mean I'm just not listening to God?

WHERE DO I FIT?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

Saturday, February 27, 2010

Want to sponsor me in the Walk for Life?

Hello friends!

Once again, it's time for A Women's Pregnancy Center's Walk for Life. This annual event raises money to support the pregnancy center and their mission to minister to mothers who are struggling with some big decisions. They also hold the spread of the Gospel central to their purpose while providing free services to the community that include pregnancy tests, ultrasounds, medical needs, post-abortion support groups, and many others.

The longer I work with infants and children at the daycare, the more I see the need for A Women's Pregnancy Center and other organizations like theirs. God holds all life to be sacred, and with every tiny smile, first step, and hand held out for a hug, I can't help but feel a need to do whatever I can to encourage the choice of life.

That's where I need your help. Would you consider joining me by sponsoring me as I participate in the walk? My goal for this year is $175 and I think that with your help, I can achieve it! Please feel free to e-mail me if you'd like to sponsor me:

courtney.vinson1@gmail.com

or send me a message through facebook. Please include your phone number and address if you'd like for A Women's Pregnancy Center to bill you at a later date. Otherwise,you can pay with cash, check or online at:

lifeline-awpc.org

Checks made out to: A Women's Pregnancy Center.

Again, feel free to e-mail me with your pledge and I can take care of getting it to the right place. This is one way for us to combine our faith with action right here in our very own community! I appreciate, ahead of time, you joining me in this ministry!

Love,
Courtney

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Romans 4

Boy howdy do I suck at this blogging thing! I look back at the old Xanga page and see looooong posts (mostly about nothing) EVERY DAY. They may have been dumb and boring but it was something. And then I start this thing. And then I stop it. And then I think about stopping it again. I WANT to get back into the habit of writing everyday, I really do. So how about this, I tried the whole "blogging AFI's 100 Movies" and failed. Well my New Year's Resolution was to get serious about reading my Bible. I'm kind of tired of treating my Bible has a fashion accessory on Sundays in order to fit in. I'm going as far as physically writing in a journal, so if I can do that why can't I try sharing those thoughts on the internet. Well mainly because they're short and boring! But hey if it's gets me blogging again, even if no one reads it, so be it. Unlike movies I'll actually feel bad if I stop writing about the Bible. So consider this my public accountability.

So I chose the reading plan the Epistles and Acts because well I love Paul. And since this is a personal Bible Study (as opposed to a scholarly study) I figured I could use The Message. I've never read the Message at length, just various verses and sections.

Today I was reading Romans 4 and the wording of the Message just helped remind me of this universal truth that I'm always so quick to forget.

So for the first 3 chapters of Romans Paul is trying to explain how the grace of God is open to EVERYONE. Because a lot of the Jews in the church were saying "By us doing all these rituals, works, etc. we are in God's favor. He has chosen us because we do X." Well for the rest of this chapter Jews is interchangable for Christians and all the "rituals" are the same as baptism, works, etc.

So how do the Jews/modern Christians reconcile this fact they've received this FREE gift of God's grace. Paul says, "If you're a hard worker and do a good job, you deserve your pay; we don't call your wages a gift. But if you see that the job is too big for you, that it's something only God can do, and you trust him to do it—you could never do it for yourself no matter how hard and long you worked—well, that trusting-him-to-do-it is what gets you set right with God, by God. Sheer gift." (v. 4-5)

It's so true. So many times we act like we've earned the right to be called a Christian because we _______. Fill in the blank - were baptised, go to church, memorize the Bible, anything! Well then it isn't a gift! It's work! But the best part is NOTHING we could do can ever EARN us God's grace. "If you're a hard worker..." well sad news is, we all sin, and therefore we've all failed at being a "hard worker". Instead we see that, "the job (living a holy life) is too big for you, that it's something only God can do..." and therefore this grace we receive is a GIFT. It's not because of ANYTHING we've done, the only thing we've done is believe God's promise!

And then Paul just goes and pulls the rug right from under all the self righteous Jews/Us. They try to say over and over "Abraham is our father in faith, he was declared right by God when he was circumcised" Well look at the scriptures again. Abraham was declared right by God BEFORE he was cirucumcised. Before any of these fancy rituals came into play Abraham was made right by God SIMPLY BY BELIEVING!!! God made Abraham a promise, Abraham believed it, and God said you are righteous BECAUSE OF YOUR FAITH. THEN the circumcision, then the rituals, then the acts of showing others that he had faith.

But too often we do the same thing. We try to say, "I'm right with God because I _____" That's us trying to earn grace, trying to get paid for our WORK. God says from the very beginning, "I have a promise for you (eternal life, eternal love, eternal purpose). Do you believe me?" In FAITH we say YES and therefore he says we are right with Him. THEN comes the baptism, THEN comes the good works. Those are what made you right with God, it was faith you had before it all started.

Am I the only one that forgets that?